Mother to Son: a Love legacy to my son..

For mother’s day this year my son wrote a poem to me that he created on his own. It was the most special thing I have ever received from him because it was honestly from his heart.  In return for his 22nd birthday, I wrote him a letter about the legacy I wanted to leave for him and his sister. I wanted to leave them lessons that were important for his life that he would have to keep him as he grows old. Even if I close my eyes tonight for good, he will have the written lessons with him to carry him through. In a few days, I will post the actual letter. The word Legacy keeps reappearing in my life.  I am beginning to realize the importance of a legacy perhaps even more than ever as I watched a former co-worker bury her 42 year old husband. She has a five year old son and because they had some warning about the end of his life, he and their son were able to do legacy work so their son could have things and memories to remind him of his dad. So now here are my questions: What is a legacy? What is the stuff that legacies are made of? Have I done that with my children? Is it too late to start?

Leave a comment